Tags

,

In search of spring flowers in the bush I drove across the clankety bridge and up the hill to the Swamp trail, somewhere between the walk along the river and the clamber up Nerrigundah Ridge. There I found my ho-hum expectations confounded once again. There were at least 12 species, a distinctive assemblage – Banksia spinulosa, Eriostemon, casuarinas, ironbark, eucalypts, eggs and bacon (round-leafed and spiky), blue glycine vine, purple flags, tiny yellow hibbertia, lomandra, and, as always, something I couldn’t identify – not all of which were amenable to the camera, and some of which demanded to be photographed over and over again. The ground under the trees was a dense mat of casuarina needles and nuts from the casuarinas. The track went steadily down hill, past a quarry and a dumping place for old cars and tyres, over anti-erosion humps, to a dry creek bed with stones and ferns and moss and long ribbons of bark. It continued up the hill over the creek, but this time I didn’t. For once, I worked up a bit of a sweat walking back up hill.

The track

The creek bed

On the ground

Trees