Tags

, ,

… amongst other things

The hills are swathed with wattle, and the roadside crowded with the white of mint bush and ti tree flowers and the yellow of wattle and pea flowers. Today’s stroll is a bit hilly, curving past cleared land, and tracks stumble off into rainforesty gullies at the foot of the mountain. The school bus laps me twice, once for high school, once for primary school. There are tempting side-tracks up into the forest and down to the river, but this project has Rules, so I stay on the road, noting options for another day. It suddenly occurs to me that I haven’t spotted an orchid yet, and lo! There are the traces of a bearded orchid in a stump, its flowering long past. Just over the road a flurry of bird call, and a flash of red. Three red-tailed black cockatoos feasting in the casuarinas, unperturbed by my presence, but unwilling to pose. The best I could catch was a blur of red. They are doubly welcome: the black cocky is my avatar, and they are supposed to presage rain. Two tree ferns stand by the road, unmolested by clearing and nearby houses. Groves of pink trigger plants straggle up the verge of the road into the bush, a brighter pink than those I saw the other day, despite the dust.

Today’s walk ends in bitumen.

A pond dotted with wattle balls

Dust from the school bus

Has Andy Goldsworthy been here?

And a wombat here?