Tags

This post may look like repetition, but for me the discovery of a stump full of Cymbidium suave on the side of the major coast road between Sydney and Melbourne is worth another set of images of this lovely – and far from uncommon – orchid. I'm also patting myself on the back a bit, firstly because I spotted those strappy leaves as I was whizzing along at a respectable highway speed, and secondly because I saw them again on the return journey. My luck was in: there was a pull-over space opposite, so I got out and scrambled across some uneven dirt, over a couple of slabs of bark, and through some small dead branches for a photo-shoot. The sun was directly overhead, which gave me lovely flower-shadows, but also meant I had to avoid camera-and-photographer shadows. Here they are: the highway orchids.