Tags

, ,

Here are ten things I especially loved, in descending order

Being girly with my niece and her bridesmaids

The mangrove forest on the way to Cape Tribulation

Mossman Gorge in the rain

The Tanks Arts Centre

Cooktown history

The two exhibitions at the Cairns Regional Gallery

Walking amongst butterflies

Seeing coral from the glass-bottomed boat

Life in a hillside cabin and a campervan

Being made moderately beautiful

 

 

 

And four things to fear, in ascending order

Crocodiles

Cassowaries

Fear itself – of car ferries, steep hills, campervans


Falling coconuts


 

As close as I got to a crocodile

 

Not on my head, thank you

 

A few days after I arrived home, there was something to really fear. We had a hefty hailstorm which shredded leaves from trees, dimpled cars, smashed windscreens, pounded roofs, damaged solar panels and gave my son a lump on his head when he ventured out to protect the ute. So much for all the phantom fears of North Queensland.