2015 is the year in which I enjoyed two flowerings. I arrived in Warsaw in May, when spring was turning into summer, and enjoyed the dramatic flowering of the northern hemisphere. Many flowers were new to me, including horse chestnuts and laburnum: others had some familiarity as garden plants in Australia: still others (notably lily of the valley) were familiar only from poetry and fiction.

Now, in September, I’m watching spring unfold in my home bush. As I walk out onto the headland, I mourn things that were once there and no longer are because of the bushfire belt, which will be ineffectual anyway in a serious fire: hakea, geebung, pea flower, donkey orchids, ti-tree, banksia spinulosa. Zeiria are there but as regrowth, and I have to admit they are thriving.

Mostly the flowers here are less dramatic, but there is the delight of finding them where nature, rather than a human gardener, put them.

Let me introduce Eurobodalla’s September wildflowers. The names of some will be an “I-can’t-actually-remember-your-name” mumble, but most I know well as residents of my photographic ID notebook, built up over a number of years.